Popular Churches in the OC and Southern California

A list of megachurches in Orange County and Southern California where thousands and thousands of people attend church, listed in no particular order. People vote with their feet, you might say, though that’s 50% of church attenders – 50% of churchgoers attend churches over 350 in size. [cf. Top 10 Largest Churches in the OC; use this handy-dandy Google Map of California Megachurches]

Big Churches in Orange County

  1. Saddleback Church saddleback.com **
  2. Mariner’s Church  marinerschurch.org **
  3. ROCKHARBOR rockharbor.org **
  4. Calvary Chapel Costa Mesa calvarychapelcostamesa.com
  5. Templo Calvario Assembly of God tcsocal.com Santa Ana
  6. Eastside Christian Church eastside.com Anaheim **
  7. Fullerton Free fullertonfree.com Fullerton
  8. The Crossing thecrossing.com Costa Mesa
  9. Seacoast Grace Church seacoastgrace.org Cypress
  10. Newsong Community Church newsong.net Santa Ana
  11. Sarang Community Church (Korean) sarang.com Anaheim
  12. Grace Ministries International (Korean) gracemi.com Fullerton
  13. Coast Hills Community Church coasthillschurch.org Aliso Viejo
  14. The Rock Church gototherock.com Anaheim **
  15. Vineyard Christian Fellowship vcfanaheim.com Anaheim
  16. Knott Avenue Christian Church kacc.com Anaheim
  17. Cottonwood Christian Center cottonwood.org Los Alamitos
  18. Friends Church friends.church Yorba Linda **
  19. Friendship Baptist Church thefriendshipchurch.org Yorba Linda
  20. Rose Drive Friends Church rdf.org Yorba Linda
  21. Calvary Chapel La Habra  calvarylahabra.org
  22. Orange Hills Assembly of God orangehills.net Orange Hills
  23. Pacific Coast Church pccsc.org San Clemente
  24. First Christian Church fcchb.com Huntington Beach
  25. Capo Beach Calvary capobeachcalvary.com
  26. Healing Word healingword.tv Tustin
  27. Calvary Chapel ccrsm.net Rancho Santa Margarita
  28. Calvary Chapel Westgrove ccwg.org Garden Grove
  29. Calvary Church of Santa Ana calvarylife.org
  30. Bethel Korean Church bkc.org Irvine
  31. Compass Bible Church compasschurch.org Aliso Viejo **
  32. Crossline Community Church crosslinechurch.com Laguna Hills
  33. 얼바인침례교회 (Irvine Baptist Church) irvinechurch.com
  34. Ocean Hills Community Church, San Juan Capistrano

Large Churches in the City of Los Angeles

Big churches in Los Angeles County

  • Mission Ebenezer Family Church missionebenezer.com Carson
  • Parkcrest Christian Church parkcrest.org Long Beach
  • Lake Avenue Church lakeave.org Pasadena
  • Faith Community Church  go2faith.com West Covina
  • The Church On The Way tcotw.org Van Nuys
  • Calvary Chapel Golden Springs
  • Faithful Central Missionary Baptist Church
  • Agape International Center For Truth, Culver City CA
  • Calvary Chapel, Downey CA
  • Calvary Chapel South Bay ccsouthbay.org Gardena CA
  • City of Refuge Church, Gardena CA
  • Hope Chapel, Hermosa Beach CA
  • Community Baptist Church – Journey of Faith, Manhattan Beach CA
  • Calvary Chapel Montebello, Montebello CA
  • Journey Community Church, La Mirada CA
  • Central Christian Church, Lancaster CA
  • Lancaster Baptist Church, Lancaster CA
  • Desert Vineyard, Lancaster CA
  • First Presbyterian Church, Torrance CA
  • First Church of the Nazarene, Pasadena CA
  • Rolling Hills Covenant Church, Rolling Hills Estates CA
  • Whittier Area Community Church, Whittier CA
  • Morning Star Christian Chapel, Whittier CA
  • Faith Community Church, Covina CA
  • Florence Avenue Foursquare Church, Santa Fe Springs CA
  • big churches in the San Fernando Valley
  • Cornerstone Community Church cornerstonesimi.com Simi Valley
  • Shepherd of the Hills Church theshepherd.org Porter Ranch
  • The Church At Rocky Peak rockypeak.org Chatsworth
  • Grace Community Church gracechurch.org Sun Valley
  • Grace Baptist Church, Santa Clarita CA
  • Faith Chapel, Spring Valley CA
  • Calvary Community Church, Westlake Village CA

Big Churches in the Inland Empire (Riverside County etc)

  • Harvest Christian Fellowship harvest.church Riverside **
  • Sandals Church sandalschurch.com Riverside
  • Sunrise Church sunrisechurch.org Rialto
  • The Grove Community Church thegrove.cc Riverside
  • Crossroads Christian Church crossroadschurch.com Corona
  • Calvary Chapel Golden Springs calvarygs.org Diamond Bar
  • Set Free Christian Fellowship setfreerocks.com Yucaipa
  • Southwest Community Church  southwestcc.org Los Gatos
  • Calvary Chapel Ontario
  • Calvary Chapel David Rosales Chino
  • Inland Hills Church  Chino
  • Calvary Chapel Chino Hills
  • Water of Life, Fontana
  • Campus Hill Church Loma Linda
  • Loma Linda University Church, Loma Linda CA
  • Immanuel Baptist Church, Highland CA
  • Revival Christian Fellowship, Menifee
  • Calvary Church Murrieta , Murrieta CA
  • Calvary Bible Fellowship, Temecula CA
  • Sunridge Community Church, Temecula
  • Rancho Community Church, Temecula CA
  • Calvary Chapel , Redlands CA
  • Trinity Evangelical Free Church ,  Redlands CA
  • Life Church of God In Christ,  Riverside CA
  • Christ’s Church of the Valley,  San Dimas CA
  • Pomona First Baptist Church, Pomona CA
  • Cornerstone Community Church, Wildomar CA
  • Abundant Living Family Church , Rancho Cucamonga CA
  • Hillside Community Church , Rancho Cucamonga CA

Big Churches in the San Diego area

  • North Coast Church northcoastchurch.com Vista **
  • The Rock Church sdrock.com San Diego **
  • North Coast Calvary Chapel northcoastcalvary.org Carlsbad
  • Bonita Valley Community Church bonitavalley.com Bonita
  • Horizon Christian Fellowship North horizon.org Rancho Santa Fe
  • Horizon Christian Fellowship horizonsd.org San Diego
  • Maranatha Chapel maranathachapel.org San Diego
  • Cornerstone Church turningthehearts.com San Diego
  • Shadow Mountain Community Church shadowmountain.org  El Cajon
  • Eastlake Community Church eastlake.church Chula Vista **
  • Skyline Wesleyan Church skylinechurch.org La Mesa
  • Foothills Christian Fellowship,  El Cajon CA
  • Emmanuel Faith Community Church efcc.org, Escondido CA
  • New Venture Christian Fellowship, Oceanside CA
  • San Diego Church of Christ, San Diego CA
  • Church of the Good Shepherd,  San Diego CA
  • Bayview Baptist Church bayviewbc.org,  San Diego CA
  • College Avenue Baptist, San Diego CA
  • Rancho Bernardo Community Church, San Diego CA
  • Revival Tabernacle/The Anchor, San Diego CA
  • Sonrise Community Baptist Church, Santee CA
  • Calvary Chapel of Vista, Vista CA

Why did so many megachurches wind up in the OC?

According to the panelists in this video: suburbanist spread, charismatic pastors with business skills, …

—–

* data gathered via christianexaminer.com/Articles/Articles%20Jun04/Art_Jun04_12.html + HIRR database of megachurches in California

** denotes a multi-site church, that is, a church in multiple locations

You may also like...

%d bloggers like this: